النقل في تنزانيا

إدارة المرور تؤدي إلى تخفيض التأخير على الطرق

 

في مجتمع دائم الحركة، يعد السفر برا عنصرا هاما وحيويا في نظام النقل. يمكن أن يكون لدى البلدان المختلفة وحتى المدن المختلفة داخل نفس البلدان مستويات متنوعة للغاية من حركة المرور على الطرق. الوضع في تنزانيا هو أسوأ بكثير من البلدان الأخرى. ظروف الطرق في هذا البلد الإفريقي الفقير هي للأسف أقل بكثير من المتوسط.

على سبيل التوضيح، تنزانيا بلد شاسع يقع في الجزء الشرقي من أفريقيا، الى الجنوب مباشرة من خط الاستواء. إنها دولة تقع على المحيط الهندي مباشرة من الشرق.

في مركز الأعمال، دار السلام، تعتبر حركة المرور على الطرق بطيئة. إن ازدحام المركبات، وظروف الطرق السيئة، والعدد الهائل من الأشخاص الذين يسافرون، قد جعل السفر بالطائرة مهمة شاقة وطويلة. يقضون المسافرين المحليين عدة ساعات لتغطية مسافة بضع كيلومترات فقط.

كان للازدحام المروري العديد من الآثار السلبية على الناس والاقتصاد والإنتاجية والبيئة. التأخيرات الطويلة والانتظار والوقت الضائع ومقدار الإيرادات المفقودة بسبب الازدحام المروري الشديد أمر مذهل.

وسائل النقل العامة غير كافية على الإطلاق. على هذا النحو، أصبح الناس يعتمدون على الآلاف من الشاحنات المقفلة الصغيرة (الميني فان) الخاصة والحافلات الصغيرة لتلبية احتياجات النقل. في حين أن هذه الشاحنات والحافلات مفيدة، فهي ليست منظمة من قبل الحكومة المحلية. فوجودهم على الطرقات جنبًا إلى جنب مع توقفهم المتكرر يزيد من مشاكل الازدحام. كان الوضع ببساطة يتحول من السيء إلى الأسوأ. على هذا النحو، في عام 2016، بدأت تقل هذه العربات والحافلات التي يديرها القطاع الخاص لهدف إزالة عربات النقل من المدينة حيث يتم تنفيذ نظام حافلات جديد من قبل الحكومة.

يحتاج قطاع النقل المركزي بالحافلة إلى التمويل. المشروع كبير جدًا حيث يتطلب تمويلًا واستثمارات رأسمالية كبيرة. ساعدت إدارة الأصول بارند، إلى جانب شركاء آخرين، في التمويل الأولي. لقد حقق نظام الحافلات الجديد تحسناً ملحوظا. تم تخفيض أوقات العبور بشكل ملحوظ. أصبح نظام النقل بين مختلف أنحاء المدينة أسرع وجدير بالثقة وبأسعار معقولة.

منذ نجاح الجزء الأول من المشروع، تم التخطيط لخطوط إضافية وممرات نقل. ويبلغ عدد سكانها تقريبا أربعة ملايين ونصف مليون نسمة، فإن احتياجات النقل لهذه المدينة الصاخبة هائلة.

تواصل الحافلات الجديدة لإضافتها إلى نظام النقل. تمت إضافة ممرات مخصصة للحافلات وجرت تحسينات إضافية. يتم إنشاء مشاريع أكبر بهدف تحويل نظام النقل في المدينة بحلول عام 2029 أو بعد ذلك بوقت قصير.

بالنسبة للمواطن العادي، كان للتحسينات تأثير ملموس. تم تقليل إهدار الوقت بسبب حركة المرور الكثيفة على الطرق. تعد أحجام الأعمال أعلى أيضًا نظرًا أن المستهلكين يمكنهم الآن الوصول إلى مواقع التسوق بشكل أسرع. وقد تم أيضًا تحسين التأثيرات البيئية - خاصةً منذ ان تمت إزالة حافلات الميني فان الغير خاضعة للتنظيم والتي سببت أضرار في البيئة. في إدارة الأصول بارند، يسرنا أن نلاحظ هذه التحسينات القيمة.

المستقبل أكثر إشراقا في تنزانيا. كما أن الانتقال من احدى مواقع المدينة إلى طرف آخر أصبح أسرع بكثير الآن بعد أن تم تقليل الازدحام في الطرق.

Time is Money

Transportation in Tanzania

Traffic Management Leads to Reduction of Road Delays

In a society that is constantly on the move, travelling by road is an important and vital component of the transportation system. Different countries and even different cities within the same countries can have vastly diverse levels of road traffic. The situation in Tanzania is considerable worse that other countries. Road conditions in that impoverished African country is regrettably far below the average.

By way of clarification, Tanzania is a vast country that is situated in the eastern part of Africa. It lies just south of the equator. It is a country that has the Indian ocean immediately to the east.

In the business hub, Dar es Salaam, road traffic is notoriously slow. Vehicle congestion, poor road conditions and the massive number of people that are on the move have made travelling by road a lengthy and arduous task. It is not unheard of for local travelers to spend several hours just to cover a distance of only a few kilometers.

Traffic congestion has had many negative impacts on the people, on the economy, on productivity and on the environment. The long delays, the waiting, the time wasted and the amount of lost revenue due too the severe traffic congestion is staggering.

Public transit is woefully inadequate. As such, the people have come to rely on thousands of privately-owned minivans and small buses for their transportation needs. While these vans and buses are helpful, they are largely unregulated by the local government. Their presence on the roads, along with their frequent stops, increase the congestion problems. The situation was simply getting from bad to worse. As such, in 2016 these privately-operated vans and buses started to be reduced. The aim was to rid the city of these transportation vans as a new bus system was being implemented by the government.

The segment of the centralized bus transportation system needed funding. The project is so vast it required significant financing and capital investments. Barrend Asset Management, along with other partners, helped with the initial financing. Already the new bus system has made a significant and notable improvement. Transit times have been noticeably reduced. Commuting between the various parts of the city has become more reliable, affordable and quicker.

Since the first part of the project proved to be a success, additional lines and transportation corridors were being planned. With a population of nearly four and a half million people, the transportation needs of this bustling city are enormous.

New buses continue to be added to the transit system. Dedicated bus lanes have been added and there are many other improvements that have been achieved. Greater projects are under construction with the aim of transforming the city’s transit system by 2029 or soon thereafter.

For the average citizen the improvements have had an appreciable impact. Time wastage due to heavy road traffic has been reduced. Business volumes are also higher since consumers can now get to their shopping destinations quicker. Notably the environmental impacts have also been improved--especially since the unregulated minivans, that spewed unfiltered exhaust fumes, have been removed. At Barrend Asset Management, we are pleased to note these valuable improvements.

The future is a little brighter in Tanzania. Getting from one part of the city to another is also significantly quicker now that the road congestion has been reduced.